top of page

Our team

Neurophysiology of epilepsy and neurodevelopmental disorders

MacKenzie Howard, PhD

Assistant Professor

Department of Neurology

Center for Learning and Memory

Dell Medical School, University of Texas at Austin

PhD Physiology and Biophysics, University of Washington
BA Biology, Lewis and Clark College

2021-07-25 19.02.40.jpg

Audrey Brumback, MD/PhD

MD/PhD Neuroscience, University of Colorado School of Medicine
BA Biochemistry, University of Texas at Austin

Mendee Geist
Laboratory Manager

Isaac Guillen.jpg

Isaac Guillen, MS

Shelby Towers
INS Graduate Student (Brumback Lab)



Martha Treviño
(Neuroscience, 2024)

Akshi Pant
(Polymathic Scholars, Neuroscience and Chemistry, 2024

Lauren Cheek
(Neuroscience, 2025)

Ela Albiston (Neuroscience, 2024)

Caitlin Richardson (Biology, 2024) 


Brumback Lab (PI: Audrey Brumback, MD/PhD)
Department of Neuroscience
Department of Neurology
UT Austin and Dell Medical School

Stone Lab (PI: Audrey Stone, PhD)
Department of Kinesiology
UT Austin

Huang lab (PI: Evan Huang, PhD)
Department of Biomedical Engineering
UT Austin

Nixon Lab (
PI: Kimberly Nixon, PhD)
Pharmacology and Toxicology
UT Austin

Vogt Lab 
(PI: Daniel Vogt, PhD)
Dept. Pediatrics and Human Development
Michigan State University

Past Lab Members

Postdoctoral Fellows:
Jessica Chancey, PhD (
Postdoctoral Fellow): Assistant Pr
ofessor, Department of Neuroscience, UT Austin

Research Associates/Lab Managers:
Aurora Weiden (lab technician)

Meredith McCarty (lab technician): PhD program, MD Anderson/UT Health Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Madelynn Campbell (lab technician)

Alena Kizimenko, MS (Histologist)
Alexandra Munson (Laboratory Manager): Texas Tech Medical School Class of 2028
Polina L
yuboslavsky (
Electrophysiologist; Brumback Lab)

Saima Khan (2020 BSA Biology, Research Distinction):
 Dell Medical School Class of 2024
Alexandra McConnell (Neuroscience Honors Thesis): PhD program, MD Anderson/UT Health Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Alisha Ahmed (Neuroscience Honors Thesis; Dean's Scholars): Neuroscience PhD program, New York University
Samantha Jackson (
2022 BS Neuroscience, Neuroscience Scholars, Women in Neuroscience Fellow, TIDES Summer Research Fellow): Neuroscience Graduate Program, UC Berkeley
Saket Ashar (2023 BSA Neuroscience)
Naren Gundapaneni (2022 BS Neuroscience/BSA Physics)
Lance Chu (
2022 BS Neuroscience)

bottom of page